Reagan Wrestling finishes 7th out of 33 teams at Russ Pederson Tournament

Last Saturday the Boys’ Varsity battled hard in Johnson’s gym to take home 7th place with 102 points – just 1 point shy of 6th place.  Junior Zarek Hernandez (113#) again led the Rattlers, maintaining his undefeated record and took 1st place.  Freshman Jimmy Benne (120#) and Junior Amir Mussali (138#) went 4-1 taking 4th place each, both forced to forfeit the 3rd place challenge due to the UIL rule of maximum 5 matches per day.  Senior Tyler Brode also put in an impressive 4-1 performance in a stacked 160# weight class, but was unable to continue for a medal because of same UIL rule.

On the Girls’ side, Reagan took home 14th out of 32 teams.  Junior Addison Garcia brought home 2nd place – losing the championship match by a narrow 3-7 decision to Ray High School’s (Corpus Christi) Odelia Lopez who recently won the Preseason National Tournament in Iowa – an exciting match to watch.

JV put in their battle against 27 teams Friday Night with Ian Lassandro, Nathan Almaguer, Sean Jones, Ethan Gutierrez and Chase Purcelli taking 1st place; Nathan Caron, Dominique Sanchez and Xavier Nava taking 2nd place; Chase Trinkle and Myles Pryor taking 3rd place; and Kaleb de la Garza and Parker Miller taking 4th place.

Great job to all the Rattlers and Coaches on a long weekend of tough wrestling!

Next up Reagan and 49 teams will participate the grueling Doc Hess Classic in Bryan, Tx this SATURDAY, DECEMBER 21ST.

You can follow your Rattler Team on trackwrestling at