2019-2020 REAGAN HOOPS Wrap up and Awards

The 2019-2020 Rattlers Basketball team finished the season strong,winning their last 3 games to make it back to the 6A UIL State playoffs. The Rattlers fought hard, but came up short in a 67-56 loss to the Warren Warriors. The Rattlers finished the season with a 20-13 record and provided a great deal of pride to Reagan Basketball Coaches.

“As a coaching staff, we are extremely proud of this year’s basketball team. To have back-to-back 20 win seasons, with the schedule we play, is really a testament to this year’s squad. We felt like we saw every team’s best game, night in and night out – so to back up last year’s 20 win season speaks volumes for this year’s squad.”

“One of the things this year’s team will be remembered for was their “4:1” mentality. The amount of distractions that this group overcame would have ruined most team’s seasons. This group kept finding ways to overcome adversity, pull together and find ways to win games at clutch times. That just doesn’t happen if you aren’t mentally tough as a group.”

“I especially want to thank this year’s senior class. Our program isn’t for everyone – you have to be tough, you have to want to be coached, you have to put what is best for the team in front of what is best for you, and you have to learn self-discipline. These are traits that don’t come naturally to most teenagers. It wasn’t always easy – but I am proud of this year’s seniors for what they have accomplished both on and off the court.”

“We are very lucky to coach at Reagan. We have the opportunity to work with great young guys every year. This year was no different. Just a great group of guys to be with. I already miss them.”

Post Season Accolades:

All-District: Will Carsten – Unanimous 1st Team

Keith Davis – 2nd Team

Zach Lee – Honorable Mention

Patrizio Loya – Honorable Mention

TABC 6A All Region: Will Carsten

San Antonio Express-News Super Team: Will Carsten

San Antonio Express-News 6A All Area Team: Will Carsten

Academic All District:

Noah Beckett

Braeden Campbell

Will Carsten

Keith Davis

Isaac Fergusson

Jake Hirst

Zach Lee

Trey Thompson

Mason Wollenzier

TABC Academic All-State: 

Will Carsten – Honorable Mention

Isaac Fergusson – 1st Team

Jake Hirst – 2nd Team

Zach Lee – Honorable Mention