Reagan Swimmer Named Express-News Athlete of the Year!

June 13, 2024

RRHS rising senior Montse Spielmann was selected as the 2024 Girl’s Swimming Athlete of the Year during the annual Alamo City Sports Awards Show sponsored by the San Antonio Express-News earlier this month. The celebrity host for the event was Tre Jones, a point guard on the San Antonio Spurs.  The event celebrating student athlete excellence, was attended by nearly 1,000 local athletes and family members.  Guests enjoyed a plated dinner, celebrity guest speakers and athlete experiences, to include a press opportunity.

This was the second nomination for Montse who was nominated in 2023 alongside, now graduated senior, Noah Ott.  Montse’s is the first win for a Reagan Swim & Dive Athlete since Alyssa Palacios won for girls diving in 2020, Hannah Feng won for girls swimming in 2018, Konstantine Parkas won for boys diving in 2018 and Zachary Yeadon won for boys swimming in 2017.

Montse’s most notable achievements at Reagan include District and Region Female Swimmer of the Meet and State Champion in the 100 Yard Butterfly. She is also a top 10 state record holder in the 100-yard butterfly, State silver medalist in the 200-yard freestyle and holds multiple other Reagan swim records.

Congratulations to Montse!  We can’t wait to see what the 2024-2025 holds for this outstanding RRHS Swim and Dive Team!

Strike ‘Em Rattlers!